Skin Science 101

Skin Science 101

The Skin

is the largest organ of our body. The skin has six primary functions: Heat Regulation, Absorption, Secretion, Protection, Excretion, and Sensation. It is made up of three layers: the epidermis, the dermis, and subcutaneous tissue. Each layer having specific jobs. As Licensed Aestheticians we are permitted to work within the Epidermis.


The Epidermis

The epidermis is the outermost layer of the three layers of skin.  Its primary function is to produce the protective, semi-permeable stratum corneum that permits

earthly life. Its thickness depends on where it is located on the body.


There are five layers of the epidermis:


Stratum Corneum (horny layer): This is the outermost or top layer of the epidermis. It is composed of tightly packed dead skin cells that shed approximately every two weeks.


Stratum Lucidum (clear layer): A barrier composed of transparent cells. This layer exists only on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet.


Stratum Granulosum (granular layer): This layer contains dying cells moving toward the surface.


Stratum Spinosum (prickle cell or spiny layer): This layer, which is also known as the squamous cell layer, is the thickest layer of the epidermis. It contains newly formed keratinocytes, which are strengthening proteins. It also contains Langerhans cells that help prevent infection.


Stratum Germinativum (basal layer): This bottom layer, which is also known as the basal cell layer, is responsible for the growth of the epidermis. It has column-shaped basal cells that divide and push older cells toward the surface of the skin. As the cells move up through the skin, they flatten and eventually die and shed.